Things to see or do
- Directions: In Kilkenny City Centre
- OPEN: From 8a.m to 7p.m Black Abbey AD 1225, is still in use today by members of the founding order, the Dominican Friars.
- Admission Prices: No admission fee, however, donations are welcome. Please be respectful of Mass times.
Black AbbeyKilkenny City Kilkenny - Ireland South
Located just outside the original walls of Kilkenny City, The Black Abbey was a peaceful place and home to a group of Dominican friars when it was founded in the 1220s. The County Kilkenny property is believed to have taken its name from the black cappa that the friars wore over their white habits during the middle ages. The Black Abbey played a major role in the civil and ecclesiastical life of the city until 1543, when King Henry VIII confiscated it and converted it into a courthouse. Though the years of occupation left the abbey in ruin, it was eventually restored and opened for public worship in the 19th century. Today, visitors can view the buildings, which date from the 13th to the 16th century. Among the highlights are sepulchral slabs, stone carvings and sculptures, including a unique figure of the Blessed Trinity. It is the only known surviving statue of St Dominic in Ireland. Also of note is the great Rosary Window depicting the fifteen mysteries of the Holy Rosary.