Things to see or do
- Directions: Located one and one half kilometre off the main Drogheda to Collon road
- Opening Months: Open 29th May to 29th Sept
- Opening Times: Daily 10am to 6pm
- Recommended Clothing: Visitors are advised to wear suitable footwear due to uneven terrain.
- Guided Tours Available: On request, maximum number is thirty five to forty. Duration is forty minsutes. Leaflet / guide booklet in English, Irish, French, German, Italian and Spanish
- Disabled Access: Access for people with disabilities to the visitor centre
- Facilities: Guided tour
- OPW: toilets for people with disabilities
Old Mellifont AbbeyDrogheda Louth - Ireland East
In 1142, St Malachy brought the European monastic lifestyle to Ireland when he founded Old Mellifont Abbey, the country’s first Cistercian monastery. The site is located just a 10-minute drive from Drogheda in County Louth. Visitors can view the remains of Old Mellifont, which include a unique octagonal lavabo where the monks washed their hands. There are also remnants of the abbey’s gate and its church. For more information about the site, guests can stop into the visitor centre, which houses a related exhibition. The visitor centre is completely accessible for guests with disabilities, but the main historical site is reachable only by stone stairway. Guests should wear shoes suitable for uneven terrain, as there are gravel pathways.
ContactTelephone+353 (0)41 982 6459
Address: Tullyallen, Drogheda, Co Louth, Republic of Ireland